Follow us on:

About Australia

Australian Political System

Australian Political System

There are two main political parties in Australia: the coalition of the Liberal and National Parties, and the Australian Labor Party. The Labor Party is currently in power (23 May 2022 -) and the coalition  is in opposition.

There are also minor parties and independents, who sometimes hold a balance of power in the House of Representatives or the Senate. Some of the minor parties include the Greens, One Nation, and the Centre Alliance.

The major parties and the minor parties have different ideologies and policies on various issues, such as the economy, the environment, immigration, and health.