Follow us on:

About Australia

Australian 3 Levels of Government

Australian 3 Levels of Government

Every state and territory in Australia has three levels of government besides the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), which is governed by the legislative assembly.

Federal Government

State/Territory Government

State/territory government responsibilities include everything not listed as a federal responsibility in the Constitution, including:

Local Government

Every state/territory (except the ACT)  has a separate system of local government. States and territories have local government regions are known as councils, shires, boroughs, or municipalities. Each is administered by a council  which makes decisions on local, town or city matters. In addition to receiving federal and state grants, local government authorities also raise money from their residents, usually through rates and other fees and charges. Local governments do not have the power to raise taxes.